KÖPPE CONTEMPORARY The gallery KÖPPE CONTEMPORARY is situated in an Art Nouveau villa in Berlin-Grunewald (Wilmersdorf). It has existed since early 2010. It represents both international artists as well as artists from Germany, especially from Greater Berlin. Both established artists and new positions/new discoveries (Young Art) are among the group of about 30 artists who are represented by the gallery. The gallery KÖPPE CONTEMPORARY is organized in the National Association of Berlin Galleries (lvbg) and maintains close contacts to the Berlin University of the Arts (UdK). By doing so, the gallery expresses its attachment to the training and promotion of artists. It is the gallery’s important concern to specially mention and promote those artists who are represented by it through intensive public relations as well as exhibitions and participation in fairs. Special emphasis of the gallery’s exhibitions is put on individual shows, overview presentations, the presentation of work phases, multimedia events as well as the presentation of the estate of important artists. There is no special concentration on just one artistic genre. Painting, drawing, sculpture, object and installation arts as well as the New Media are of equal importance.

www.villa-koeppe.de

Program

JIM AVIGNON | The Remains Of The Night

07.09.-12.10.

Focus on the Twenties Jim Avignon at Galerie KÖPPE CONTEMPORARY – in the typically subversive ‘Jim Avignon style’, of course – will focus on a theme that goes from the twenties of the past century to the present. Among others, he will quote artists such as Otto Dix, Max Beckmann and George Grosz with selected works from that time, but on his journey back, he will also address the question if there are certain parallels between that epoch and our present.

Jim Avignon will juxtapose themes such as the salon culture of that time with today’s club culture and nightlife. But also topics such as gentrification and a shift to the right (then and now) are to be included.

Opening 06.09. 19-22:00h

Exhibition 07.09.-12.10.2018
opening times:
Di-Fr 16-19:00h
Sa 11-17:00h

Die Galerie KÖPPE CONTEMPORARY befindet sich in einer Jugendstil-Villa in Berlin-Grunewald (Wilmersdorf). Sie existiert seit Anfang 2010. Sie vertritt sowohl internationale Künstlerinnen und Künstler als auch Kunst­schaffende aus Deutschland und speziell aus dem Großraum Berlin. Etablierte Künstler befinden sich ebenso wie neue Positionen / Neuentdeckungen (Junge Kunst) unter der Gruppe, die die Galerie vertritt. Die Galerie KÖPPE CONTEMPORARY ist im Landesverband Berliner Galerien (lvbg) organisiert und pflegt enge Verbindungen zur Universität der Künste Berlin (UdK). Hierdurch bringt die Galerie ihre Verbundenheit zur Künstlerausbildung und -förderung zum Ausdruck. Wichtiges Anliegen der Galerie ist es, die von ihr vertretenen Künstler durch eine intensive Öffentlichkeitsarbeit sowie durch Ausstellungen und Messebeteiligungen hervorzuheben und zu fördern. Der Schwerpunkt der Ausstellungen der Galerie liegt auf Einzelschauen, Überblickspräsen­-tationen, der Vorstellung aktueller Werkphasen, Rauminszenierungen sowie der Präsentation von Nachlässen bedeutender Künstler.

http://www.villa-koeppe.de

Programm

JIM AVIGNON | The Remains Of The Night

07.09. – 12.10.

Die Zwanziger Jahre im Fokus Jim Avignon wird sich in der Galerie KÖPPE CONTEMPORARY – natürlich im typisch subversiven ‚Jim-Avignon-Stil‘ – einem Thema widmen, dass einen Bogen von den Zwanzigern des vergangenen Jahrhunderts bis in die Gegenwart schlägt. Dabei wird er unter anderem Künstler wie Otto Dix, Max Beckmann und George Grosz mit ausgewählten Werken aus der damaligen Zeit zitieren, bei seiner Reise zurück aber auch der Frage zuwenden, ob es gewisse Parallelen gibt zwischen jener Epoche und unserer Gegenwart.

So wird Jim Avignon Themen wie die damalige Salonkultur der heutigen Clubkultur und dem Nachtleben gegenüberstellen. Aber auch Themen wie Gentrifikation und Rechtsruck (damals wie heute) sollen mit einbezogen werden.

Opening 06.09. 19-22 uhr
07.09.-12.10.2018
Di-Fr 16-19Uhr
Sa 11-17 Uhr